A unique nineteenth century nautical instrument maker’s shop sign

By Anonymous, 1825 

[Shop sign]

  • Author: Anonymous
  • Publication place: [London
  • Publication date: c.1825–51]
  • Physical description: Heavily polychromed yellow pine in the form of an over-sized octant, inscriped on the T’ bar: Stevens Lon[don].
  • Dimensions: 1120 by 940mm (44 by 37 inches).
  • Inventory reference: 2398


There are two candidates for the original owner of this sign: Jeremiah Stevens (fl.1825–1840) or William Henry Stevens (fl.1849–1851).

Jeremiah Stevens was a member of the Goldsmith’s Company and was recorded as a Mathematical and Philosophical Instrument Makeer located at 5, Green Arbour Court, Doctor’s Commons, London, in 1825, and at 2, Bell Court, Doctor’s Commons, London for the period 1831–1840. He served his apprenticeship under William Birkwood as from 1809.